Stone Fruit and Blueberry Galette

Stone Fruit and Blueberry Galette

Finally, the stone fruits are back! For some strange reason, I didn’t realize I was in love with apricots until a couple of years ago. Ironically, the apricot tree in my parent’s backyard is sick and bears a few measly apricots per year. Quite a tragedy. But the sadness ends there—Mom is also an apricot fanatic and has decided to make it her goal to make as many jars of apricot jam as humanly possible before apricot season ends. Unfortunately, but understandably, she becomes like Smaug the dragon in her hoarding of the jam. In fact, I’m lucky to get one jar out of every yearly batch.

It has barely been a couple weeks into the start of the stone fruit season, and already I can’t resist the little beauties at the Farmer’s Market. I had received a couple of dry oranges from one of the fruit vendors a couple weeks ago, and so I arrived this Wednesday to get back what I had lost. Not wanting to go up to the register empty-handed and demanding free fruit, I happened upon what they called “nectarcots” (really just baby nectarines) and stuffed a little bag full. I’m glad I did, too, because the man who rang me up was rather reluctant to give me some new oranges. Victory was mine, however, and I walked away from the booth with a huge orange to go with my “nectarcots.” I couldn’t help stopping by the next booth for a few apricots, either.

Inspired by the fruit and my constant desire for dessert, I made a little galette. Blueberries joined the nectarines and apricots. Feel free to substitute any stone fruit in place of the ones I used. I also added corn flour to the crust to give it a more casual, crunchy flavor. Use regular flour if you want to achieve a more traditional texture.

Stone Fruit and Blueberry Galette
serves 4–6

For the crust:
1/2 cup cornflour
3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp butter
1/2 cup ice water

For the filling:
6-7 small stone fruits, sliced (roughly 1 pound)
handful blueberries
juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp flour
pinch of salt

To make the crust: Cut butter into 1/2 inch cubes and place in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add cornflour, flour, sugar, and salt. Place in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Place the bowl in your standing mixer and mix with the paddle attachment on low speed. Mix until the butter is broken up into pieces the size of peas. With the mixer still running, slowly drizzle in some of the ice water. Keep adding water just until the dough comes together—it will still look rough. Turn the dough out onto a piece of plastic wrap and push into a 4 inch round. Place in fridge for at least 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

For the filling: Whisk flour, sugar, lemon zest, and salt in a large bowl. Add fruit and lemon juice and mix until the fruit is coated.

Roll the dough into a disk 1/8 inch thick on a piece of parchment paper. Place fruit mixture into the center of the dough, leaving a couple of inches of dough free on all sides. Turn up the extra lip on all sides so that the dough is containing the fruit at its center. Sprinkle the galette with sugar and/or honey.

Bake for 40-50 minutes. Cool 20 minutes before serving. Especially good with whipped cream!

Leave a Reply

